Founding Director of the Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music Dr Steven Baxter passed away in July 2010. He was known for his spirit of giving towards students as well as for his thoughtfulness, quiet humour, strong sense of collegiality and deep commitment.

The Steven Baxter Memorial Scholarship offers enhanced merit-based scholarships to BMus Year 3 and/or Year 4 students. The Scholarship harmonises perfectly with Dr Baxter’s ambition for the Conservatory’s students to achieve international excellence.


2018/19: Luong Khanh Nhi, Mervyn Lee

2017/18: Ho Qian Hui, Luong Khanh Nhi

2016/17: April Foo Xi Yuan, Brandon Wong

2015/16: Daniel Tang Le

2014/15: Daniel Tang Le

2013/14: Adelya Nartadjieva