Double Time at YST Conservatory
 
 

Calling children aged 9-11 years old looking to learn a secondary music instrument in a creative, exploratory environment!

 

Join the YST Conservatory for Double Time, a musical adventure running from January to April 2019!

Over the course of nine sessions taught by YST orchestral pedagogy students as well as workshops with the Aurora Orchestra (UK), children will learn a second instrument and develop musicianship and creativity in an engaging setting. At the end of the programme, they will perform with Aurora Orchestra musicians at the Victoria Concert Hall Atrium.

Double Time is free with instruments provided for the duration of the programme

ELIGIBILITY

To be eligible, your child should:

  • Be 9-11 years of age in 2019;

  • Have played an instrument for at least one year;

  • Have no experience OR less than one year’s experience in their Double Time instrument.

INSTRUMENTS OFFERED

The instruments being offered are listed below. YST will assign your child to an instrument, taking into account your child’s preferred choice of instrumental area wherever possible.

  • Brass – Trumpet, Trombone, Horn, Tuba

  • Wind – Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon

  • Strings – Violin, Viola, Cello, Double Bass

SCHEDULE

The programme largely takes place on Saturdays, and all sessions take place at the Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music (3 Conservatory Drive, Singapore 117376) unless otherwise stated. Students are encouraged to attend all sessions as they build on each other.

Date and Time Session Details
Sat 1 Dec 2018
11.00am-12.30pm
Introduction session
Sat 26 Jan 2019
11.00am-12.30pm
Session 1
Sat 2 Feb 2019
7.30-9.00pm
Attend concert at YST Conservatory
Sat 9 Feb 2019
11.00am-12.30pm
Session 2
Sat 16 Feb 2019
11.00am-12.30pm
Session 3
Sat 23 Feb 2019
11.00am-12.30pm
Session 4
Sat 2 Mar 2019
11.00am-12.30pm
Session 5
Sat 9 Mar 2019
11.00am-3.00pm
Workshop with Aurora Orchestra musicians
Sun 10 Mar 2019
1.00-4.00pm
Workshop with Aurora Orchestra musicians
Children's Day Concert at YST Conservatory
Sat 16 Mar 2019
11.00am-12.30pm
Session 6
Sat 23 Mar 2019
11.00am-12.30pm
Session 7
Sat 30 Mar 2019
11.00am-12.30pm
Session 8
Sat 6 Apr 2019
11.00am-12.30pm
Session 9
Tues & Wed, 23 & 24 Apr 2019
5.00-6.30pm both days
Workshop with Aurora Orchestra musicians
Fri 26 Apr 2019
5.00-9.00pm
Performance with Aurora Orchestra musicians at VCH Atrium
Attend Aurora Orchestra concert at VCH 

Applications are open till 16 November 2018, or until all places are filled.

We hope your child will join us on this musical adventure!